What is Wealth?

I had a friend in elementary school who always looked fabulous. He always had the newest and trendiest things and I was secretly jealous of him. I was born into a family that did not have much but enough to live. Everyday I would go home and ask my mom or my grandmother for things that I thought that if I had it would make me look cool. How foolish of me then. The older I became, the more I began to realize that my family was broke and we only had enough for the necessities. The wants were not important, and I slowly began to understand why and I began to stop asking for expensive things. However, when Christmas came around,  I had a feeling that I would be able to get at least one of the big things that I had wanted all year round. By the age of 7, I knew Santa Clause was not real. I figured that out because I asked for  a very expensive piano and I did not get it.  I was under the impression that if you were good all year long, then Santa would give you anything that you wanted. Actually, if you work hard all year long, and you save your money, then you are able to get what you want.

When I got into my teen years, I started seeking out a job in order for me to be able to get the things that I wanted. I started searching for jobs when I was 16 and didnt find a job until I was 19. Why did it take so long? That’s a whole other topic about my work ethic that I would have to talk about separately. My first job was at a cleaners in Jonesboro, GA. It was a very easy job in my opinion. I was getting paid under minimum wage and under the table for four hours five days a week.

I was a senior in High School at the time and while I was working, I started to realize that I had made a mistake. Why? Well, Events and club meetings were all after school, and I had to work an hour after I left school. So, as you can see, I had a problem. I had to choose over participating with my friends and having fun my senior year of high school, or work to get the money that I needed in order to pay for senior dues and college application and fees.

Like my mother, I chose to sacrifice fun in order to support myself. I think my first job fundamentally screwed me up and I think so because, I missed out on everything that everyone ever talked about being a senior in high school. I got to experience some things, but not all. I was so tired from work that the last thing I wanted to do was my homework, so my grades suffer tremendously.

Honestly, If it wasn’t for my senior math teacher, which I thought she hated me and probably do, I would have had a second senior year.

Fast forward to today.

I am a college graduate who is in a huge transitional period. Im not too hard on myself because Im only 22. But there are so many other people my age that are way better off then I am and no exactly where they are heading. Congrats to them but everyone is not like that and I had to learn that the hard way.

Your probably asking me, what does this have to do with the title of this post? Well Im getting there!

I believe that wealth is a level of comfortability. The way of life that all people would want to live. But there are so many different levels of wealth and money is not included in all of them. You can be living close to the poverty level like my family and still find the wealth that you desire. For my family, our wealth was God and the ability that were were able to pay our bills and keep a roof over our heads. At the time that was good enough for me. But now my personal goal of wealth has changed.

I want to live a way of life where my accomplishments gets me where I want to be. That with my hard work and dedication, I am able to afford the things in life that I have always wanted.

Im tired of working just to be able to afford to pay my bills. A prison of living paycheck to paycheck. I want financial security and financial stability.  I want to make a difference in the world and I also want to help out when I can to those who are in need.

Some people think that I have become a material person and sometimes I have to ask myself the same question. But when I ask myself, I remember that is not the material things that I want, its the comfort of living that I receive with such things. My heart and my character will always be the same. I will always stay grounded to who I am and that is a gentle and kind spirited soul who cares for and love everyone regardless.

I am creating this blog for you to follow my journey to create a life for me that I know that I deserve. I want this blog to serve as an inspiration to all of those out there who aspire to be a better person financially and spiritually.Wealth is a way of life and you must find out how you get to there. The road is not easy but, anything is possible when you put your mind to it.

2 thoughts on “What is Wealth?”

Leave a Reply

